Keakie Logo

Daniel Caesar Releases Two Song Visual and Announces Debut Album ‘Freudian’

Soul singer Daniel Caesar is ready to make his mark.

8th Aug 2017

The Canadian singer revealed the cover art for his first album on Instagram, paired with the caption ‘Heaven help us, we’re on our own. Freudian, August 25th.’ The album is set to feature appearances from Syd, Kali Uchis and more.

Daniel Caesar is a star in the making. The 21-year-old singer’s career began in 2014, when he put out two projects; most notably the seven-song EP ‘Praise Break,’ which premiered his soulful and passionate vocals over atmospheric production by Drake collaborator Jordan Evans. A year later he returned with ‘Pilgrims Paradise’ - a polished and concise, genre-blending project including a collaboration with BadBadNotGood and a beautiful rendition of Kanye West’s track ‘Streetlights.’

Caesar has been relatively low-key since, except for the occasional single, feature or performance. Despite this he’s managed to continue gaining popularity quite rapidly. Fans have been eager to find out what’s next for the singer-songwriter and at last the wait is over. Daniel Caesar has returned with a two-in-one music video for his previously released piano ballads, ‘We Found Love’ and ‘Blessed’. The grainy visuals string together scenes of Caesar with a mysterious girl, telling the story of falling in and out of love. The visuals do a nice job of matching the mellow vibe both songs encapsulate.

Shortly after the visuals dropped, Daniel announced ‘Freudian’ - his debut album - which is set to be released on August 25th. In an interview with The Fader, the Toronto native described the project as his most ‘exposed’, and said it was special because he was able to make it with his friends. The singer’s break out single ‘Get You’ featuring Kali Uchis is the first track on the album. The other features include talented singer-songwriter and producer Syd - as well as mysterious and enigmatic R&B singer H.E.R. The strong features are sure to excite fans. We look forward to discover what route Caesar will go down on his first album. Take a look at the full track-list below:

1. Get You feat. Kali Uchis

2. Best Part feat H.E.R

3. Hold Me Down

4. Neu Roses (Transgressor’s Song)

5. Loose

6. We Find Love

7. Blessed

8. Take Me Away feat. Syd

9. Transform feat. Charlotte Day Wilson

10. Freudian

Discover More Categories

Alternative RnB